Left Out in the Rain

Yesterday, while perusing some of my favorite blogs (via my Google Reader), I did what any socially active individual does…I commented.  One comment in particular, I spent almost 10 minutes really thinking about what I wanted to say. Let’s just say that it was short of brilliant (well at least I thought so).

Eager to see what others would think of my comments…how it would shape their existence, I checked back periodically throughout the day waiting for the blog moderator to approve my thesis. 3:30p…not yet. 5:30p…nope. 7:30p…where are they? 10:30p…it finally set in. My posts had not been accepted. The moderators didn’t like me or what I had to say. I later found out that it was merely a technical issue (probably because I used a PC and everyone know unreliable they are).

It was an awkward feeling. I have become very accustomed to the social media environment. I have become accustomed to “virtual” conversations. The idea that I had spoken out and no one heard me was unsettling to say the least. It was a bit of a beating to my ego (which is probably not a bad thing). I felt as though I had been left out in the rain.

One thought on “Left Out in the Rain

Leave a Reply

